Om Kriya – Accelerate Your Spiritual Progress

Dear Godlike friends, you are so very fortunate, that, you need to remind yourself about it for your own health, happiness and quality of life. It is because you have been initiated into Kriya Yoga and you have learnt it and are practicing it.

Benefits of Kriya Yoga

The benefits of Kriya Yoga are immense and cannot be fully described. Each Kriya Yoga technique has physical, mental,intellectual and spiritual benefits. Maha Avatar Babaji frequently quotes from the Bhagavad Gita, which Paramahansa Yogananda took care to repeat frequently.

नेहाभिक्रमनाशोऽस्ति प्रत्यवायो न विद्यते |
स्वल्पमप्यस्य धर्मस्य त्रायते महतो भयात् || 40||

nehābhikrama-nāśho ’sti pratyavāyo na vidyate
svalpam apyasya dharmasya trāyate mahato bhayāt

The Bhagavad Gita Chapter 2 Verse 40

The investment of Time, Energy and Effort in this Yoga is never wasted, nor it decreases. There is no adverse effect. Even a little or limited practice of this great divine technique saves one from the great fear of disease, decay, and death.

Benefits of Om Kriya

In this issue let us discuss the benefits of the OM technique of Kriya Yoga. Few important salient points are: 

At the Physical Level

It is a great self-healing and self-strengthening technique. It is also known as Pranic Healing technique.

At the Astral Level

It prevents and alleviates the adverse astrological effects of the Stars and Planets, which are mediated through theSukhma or Astral aspects of the Chakras.

At the Spiritual Level

At the spiritual level—it helps in overcoming the body and mind consciousness which is obstacles to deep meditation to the formless (real meditation or Paravastha).



Each Chakra has Physical, Astral, Taatwik counterparts. At the physical and physiological level, the following is the corresponding anatomy and physiology:

Mooladhara Chakra (Bottom Center) (Sacro-coccygeal nerve plexus)

Regulating the health and functions of the organs of Excretion and Procreation(Seat of Apana).

Swaadhisthan Chakra (Hypogastric Nerve Plexus)

Regulating the functions and health and efficiency of the internal organs of Procreation and Excretion (Seat of Apana).

Manipura Chakra (Coeliac or Solar Plexus)

Regulating the functions and health of the vital organs of digestion, assimilation, metabolism and energy production, immune system, endocrine system etc. (Seat of Samaana).

Anahata Chakra (Cardio-Pulmonary Plexus)

Regulating the functions and health of the heart, lungs and the great vessels inside the chest. Deals with blood circulation, purification, nutritional and oxygen supply to every cell, tissues, and organs. Above, below and in the middle. It is life and living itself (Seat of Vyaana).

Visuddha Chakra (Laryngopharyngeal and cervical)

Regulating breathing, speaking, eating, swallowing, coughing, sneezing etc and maintains their efficient functioning (Seat of Prana).

Aagnya Chakra (Hypothalamo-pituitary complex mother Plexus)

Regulating the functions of the whole body, in close association with the brain. Helps in survival, both in normal and abnormal circumstances. This presides over all other chakras and plexus. It collects feedback from different parts and systems of the body. Submits it to the brain (cerebral cortex, the Sahasrar Mahachakra) and takes orders from it for efficient, appropriate functioning (seat of Prana)

Sahasrar Mahachakra (cerebral cortex) 

The Master controller of life and living, plays the roles of Brahma, Visnu, and Maheswara, i.e. Creativity, Maintainance and Protection, and, Elimination and Preservation (seat of Udaan).

Chakra Balancing:

The health and vitality of all these internal organs can be improved, individually and collectively by the right and correct practice of Om Kriya. If there is dysfunction or imbalance in the respective region of the chakras, proper performance of Om technique, there can bestow balance and healing in the body parts there.

Better Memory and Concentration:

Om technique performed more in Sahasraar area and Aagnyaa Chakra Area, can calm the restless and irritability of the mind and improve memory and concentration power of the mind.

Chakras and Taatwik considerations:

According to Yoga philosophy, the Creation is made up of the five great Elements – These are the Earth, the water, the Fire, the Air, and Space or Vacuum. The order or sequence is – Before Creation, nothing was existing except the unmanifest God. God willed to create.

From His Will space came into existence, from space, came Air, from air came Fire, from fire came the water, from the water came Earth. From Earth came to plant life, animal life and so on. So, each plant and animal life is made up of these five great elements or Pancha Maha Bhuta.

Chakras and the Chakras:

Accordingly, these are represented through the Chakras in the spine and brain of the Human Beings. The Mooladhar Chakra at the bottom of the spine area presents the Earth Element.

  • The Generative Chakra represents the water element.
  • The Navel Chakra represents the fire element.
  • The Heart Chakra represents the air element.
  • The Neck or Cervical Chakra represents the space element.
  • The Head Chakra behind the head represents the soul.
  • The top most chakra at the crown of the head represents God.

Leaving the topmost two chakras, the rest 5 chakras can behave erratically and their functions can become imbalanced causing diseases and obstructions to spiritual progress. Proper application of the Om technique or Om Kriya (under the guidance of the Guru) can heal and correct the imbalance. This helps in accelerating the spiritual progress leading to Self Realization. These are in brief, some aspects of the Om technique or Om Kriya.

May God and the Great Masters, Bless, Guide, Protect and Inspire you.

With much love and humbleness,
Paramahansa Atmananda Ji

Similar Posts